The Bristol Stool Form Scale was developed in 1997 by a hospital in Bristol, United Kingdom, called the Bristol Royal Infirmary.

The Bristol Stool Form Scale is widely used clinical assessment tool to evaluate bowel function and the effectiveness of treatments for various diseases of the bowel.

According to BSFS there are seven types of stools (faeces). The faeces are a result of diet, fluids and lifestyle but can also be influenced by disease and medications.

Type 3 and 4 are considered to be ideal stools i.e. they are soft and easy to pass. Type 1 and 2 indicate constipation while type 5-7 indicate diarrhoea.

Have a look at the different types of stools in the slideshow below.







Lewis SJ, Heaton KW (1997). ”Stool form scale as a useful guide to intestinal transit time”. Scand. J. Gastroenterol. 32 (9): sid. 920–4.


Calmino group AB
Sahlgrenska Science Park
Medicinaregatan 8A
SE413 46 Gothenburg

+46(0)31 40 72 50